Skip to content

Tacoma Avenue passes final hurdle

August 25, 2010

The Fort Wayne City Council approved the contract to Garcia Concrete for the work on Tacoma Avenue between Maple Grove Avenue and Prange Drive. This was the final step in the approval process.

The project will replace the heaved sidewalks and shattered and sunken curbs. Several street trees (mostly ash) will be removed in the project. The project is supposed to be completed by November 10, 2010. Be on the lookout for work crews sometime soon.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine Maher permalink
    September 14, 2010 12:44 pm

    Several street trees? How about ALL of the street trees.
    I heard 25 trees will be planted to replace the over 25 taken down on one street. Hope those new 25 are earmarked for Tacoma Ave . Seems only fair. I’ll be waiting and watching for the new ones to be planted. ( Im not holding my breath).

  2. September 14, 2010 3:20 pm

    I didn’t write “all the street trees” because that would mean all the trees in the esplanade, too…

    The Association has asked twice for input from Tacoma residents about how the esplanades on Tacoma should be landscaped. There was little response, unfortunately.

    The City is offering 25 trees to Southwood Park, as long as they fit the City standards for tree location. I don’t know if it will be this fall or next spring; that could depend on how soon concrete work on Tacoma is completed.

    Trees won’t be planted in the park strips on Tacoma because they do not fit those standards. We want to hear from residents exactly where those trees should be planted, though. You can send comments to Southwood_Park@yahoo.com.

    • Kim Hilgemann permalink
      September 15, 2010 7:17 pm

      I bet if you sent a petition around to move the sidewalks up into peoples yards a foot or two so that trees could be planted back in the park strip to replace the destruction done … We would all sign.

  3. nancy konzem permalink
    September 14, 2010 6:22 pm

    I am in shock over the trees that have been removed for this project- I grew up in one of those homes on Tacoma and was very small when all those trees were planted- even if new ones were to be planted- do you realize how long it takes a tree to grow-
    way to go Elaine to put signs on your trees to try to save them-but doubt that will make a difference???

  4. Michelle Smith permalink
    September 14, 2010 6:32 pm

    I just want to say that how this “beautification improvement” was presented to me was not in the same manner as it is being done. I was told that the sidewalks would improve value and that only some of the trees that obstruct them would be removed but others would be planted to replace them. I did not know that meant all of the parkstrip trees were going to be chopped down. I definately was not told that any from the esplanades would be chopped down. The mature trees are one of the main characteristics that made me want to move here. Now our street looks like any other newer neighborhood. How boring, the character is gone. It doesn’t feel storybook anymore, just plain boring. I felt pressured to sign and was very distracted at the time since I had a baby in hand, a toddler at my side, and a dog to hold back while this was presented to me. Not the best time. Then my husband was also asked to sign, so two per household? I was unable to attend the meeting downtown to protest as it fell inconveniently during the workweek. As for not getting input from us on landscaping the esplanades, well we thought they looked fine as they were. I think the mature trees gave more value than these sidewalks. So 25 trees will be planted throughout the neighborhood…big deal! I will be dead by the time they are as old as the ones being chopped down. Oh and I thought only Ash trees were supposed to be chopped down, not others like Elm, Oak, etc…

Leave a Reply

